Morning Madness

Let me just start out by saying I only had about 2 1/2 hours sleep last night,  thanks to my lovely husband. And before y’all get the wrong idea, this wasn’t due to some all night adult fun,  no he was snoring all night.  He hardly ever snores, but when he does it’s horrible.

This cold morning started out late at 9:30 AM, feeding the animals. Our wonderful cats left us a present at the back door on the deck. You know the kind of present that used to be breathing, but is now soggy and stiff.  I love that they catch mice, because the Lord knows I hate mice in the house. But could they at least leave them 10 feet from the door so I don’t step on it with bare feet!  Yeah that happened! To say the least I was not a happy camper, on top of not being a morning person.

So animals fed, dead mouse cleaned up, on to the kid. He asked for cereal, easy right?  Apparently not today. I thought great, I had a Ziploc bag of cereal in the pantry saved for a car snack that was never eaten. I grabbed that and dumped it in his bowl. Luckily, right before the milk was poured in, I see that it’s not cereal in his bowl, but dog bone treats! What in the world. I couldn’t help but laugh. Then I got to thinking, his cereal isn’t that much different than the dog bone treats. His cereal just has little chocolate pieces in with it. (I’ll have to tell y’all about our homemade cereal another day.) Needless to say the kid wasn’t having that, and made me rinse out the bowl before starting over with cereal.

With the morning routine over and done with, homeschooling finally started about 10:30am. This is when I realize we are supposed to have a snow storm hit, and of course we don’t have any staples in the house as usual when snow or a hurricane is about to slam us. And who has time to run to Walmart? We won’t starve, we have  30 plus freezer crockpot meals in the freezer, but we don’t have milk, bread, or chips. At least we can make bread! And we do have a couple of my husband’s homemade cheeses.

I think I deserve the mom of the year award for not yelling or hurting anyone today. School was completed, we all ate, and the house managed not to get too messy.  It’s nine o’clock and I’m going to bed, so I can start all over tomorrow.

Good night y’all!

 

 

4 thoughts on “Morning Madness

Leave a Reply

